Posted by: fitartist | January 14, 2015

Buko Organic Coconut Water

Regular readers will know that I am constantly on the look-out for fuel and drinks that might help me tackle my cramping problem, so I was keen to try out some Buko Organic Coconut Water. I have been given coconut water at races before and have even gone out and bought some from the supermarket, so I am already a covert, but I know some people don’t like the taste and it can take some getting used to. I personally find it refreshing, especially if it’s nice and cold from the fridge, and have been popping these little 330ml cartons in bag for after a swim.

In case you don’t know, there are many health benefits to drinking coconut water, it’s:

– Full of essential vitamins and minerals
– A great source of potassium
– Naturally isotonic and great for rehydration
– Contains anti-oxidants such as cytokinins which regulate growth, development and ageing
– Low calorie drink with zero fat and zero cholesterol
– Aids digestion, cleanses the skin, and improves circulation

So, that might explain why it could help prevent the cramping that often stops me part-way across the pool.

Coconut Water

Coconut Water

There are a few coconut water drinks on the market now and it continues to increase in popularity, maybe due to being low calorie and natural (many people seem to be moving away from sugary sports drinks), but Buko is unique in that they work in partnership with Cuipo. Here is some information about Cuipo:

“Cuipo work with conscientious brands around the world to help persevere rainforests, by taking a small donation from each product sale and using it to buy real forest – having already bought and preserved 88 million square metres since their inception in 2010. Buko coconut water are the first UK brand to work with Cuipo and on every drink pack you will find a unique code, which represents ‘your’ square meter of rainforest. What’s more you can enter this code on the Cuipo website to see which part of the rainforest you have helped to save”.

If you want to find out more about Buko Organic Coconut Water, and buy some bottles for yourself, visit www.organicbuko.com

Responses

  1. I have tried and tried to enjoy coconut water… I take my hat off to you… It tastes like a mouth full of metal to me… I just cannot drink it! Perhaps i should give this one a go… 😎

    • 🙂 I just like it, but I can see why some might not, kind of salty. Just remind yourself it’s good for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

