Posted by: fitartist | April 13, 2015

Dr Zak’s High Protein Bagels

My post-run/swim/bike routine goes something like this:

get in, put kettle on, fill drinks bottle with High5 Zero, do a bit of core work, stretch a bit whilst rehydrating, shower, dress, check emails/get distracted by Twitter/sort out the washing, realise I’m really hungry, stand in kitchen eating cereal from the box. I’m pretty sure I’ve never read that in Runner’s World. I know I should ideally eat *something* within half an hour of finishing a workout, and I know that I should consume a combination of protein and carbs, but I kind of forget and I’m usually not terribly inspired by what’s on offer. Recently I was sent some Dr Zak’s High Protein Bagels to try, so was determined to be a bit more ‘athlete’ about my post-workout refuel routine.

Dr Zak's Pak

Dr Zak’s Pak

It was good knowing I had something planned after my long swim (I do fantasise about what I will eat later whilst swimming, it makes me sooooo hungry!) and I decided to increase the protein levels even more by filling the bagel with smoked salmon and cream cheese – that’s what you have on a bagel, right?

Grainy

Grainy

I must say, it was delicious and I felt full for ages afterwards, which is unusual for me following a swim. Each of these bagels has twice the amount of protein as a regular bagel (about the same as a piece of chicken breast), thus allowing you to up your levels of muscle repairing protein without resorting to powdered shakes and supplements. It’s the high levels of fibre that keep the hunger at bay, and I liked the nuttiness of the seeded topping, which gives the bagels a nice texture (and extra nutrients). The next day I toasted my bagel (I prefer them toasted) and added crunchy peanut butter (more protein!).

Yum

Yum

If you like to refuel and create a balance in your diet through ‘real’ food rather than supplements, then this is a great idea. Dr Zak’s bagels are available from health food shops, with a pack of four costing £3.50 – which might seem pricey, but they are big and really do fill you up (it works out at less than 90p for 24g of protein). It beats a handful of cereal anyway 😉

Responses

  1. I didn’t realize these existed! If you’re interested, I’d love for you to share a post at my link up tomorrow. There is an explanation right on my main menu under ‘Tell ’em Tuesdays’.
    xoxo K
    http://peeledwellness.com

  2. What are they like carb-wise? I’m always wary of stuff like this in case I’m putting loads of carbs into my body after a workout (more relevant after a weights-workout than a run, of course)

    • The information I can find Sam, says that the bagels have 40% less carbohydrate than your standard bagel, so that sounds like a good balance. They really fill you up too, I didn’t get the usual rumbling tummy a couple of hours later like I do with a normal sandwich…

      • That does sound good, will try them if I can find them – must be better for me than a Sports Direct protein bar 😉

  3. […] out the new Dr Zak’s nut butters. You might remember earlier in the year I tried out some of Dr Zak’s protein bagels and really liked them, so I was intrigued to sample something new. The peanut butters come in five […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

