Posted by: fitartist | May 20, 2015

Jumping Straight In

In my last post I talked about my experience at the Crystal Palace Triathlon, where I was once again overcome with panic in the swim…even after my epic 5k Swimathon and the many miles of training that got me there. Not one to be put off by a bit of fluster and wheeze, I’m diving straight in and have another triathlon in my diary in July, one with the colder, more exposed kind of swim, one with a swim that doesn’t have clear water and a blue line along the bottom to keep you heading in the right direction. Gulp.

Smiley Swimmers

Smiley Swimmers

The lovely people at Human Race have given me a place in the Lidl Bananaman Triathlon and I’m opting to tackle the shorter, more newbie-friendly ‘Banana Fritter’, which will see me glide (!) through a 400m swim, spin out a 21.2k bike ride and leap, gazelle-like over a 5k run. Yes really, that’s exactly what it’s going to look like on the day, I promise you 😉 I see this as the perfect way to tackle working towards an Olympic distance triathlon in September: this one will be fun, I won’t put any pressure on myself to achieve certain times and I will tuck in hungrily to the barbecue afterwards!

The Human Race triathlon series has just been released for 2015 and there are 15 different events to choose from, ranging from shorter events for first timers and those looking to smash a PB over a sprint or super sprint distance, to longer events for triathletes who want to step up and test out their endurance skills. There is even an event aimed at women who might be new to triathlon or simply prefer to participate with other women and take the chance to encourage their friends to come along and join in too. The Shock Absorber WomenOnly Triathlon is on 12th July and offers a supportive and encouraging environment which is perfect if you’re a slightly nervous first-timer.

Discount!

Discount!

To give you that little nudge towards taking the plunge, Human Race are offering £5 off your entry to any of the triathlon events left for 2015! Just take your pick from the events on offer and type in the discount code KISDISCOUNT and, if you happen to be there on July 11th, leave some barbecue goodies for me!

Responses

  1. I just completed my first ever triathlon under a week ago and also was overcome with fear and panic in the swim. Luckily the volunteers were so supportive and I managed to do the swim (with a few freak outs and breaks on the way!)! I’m tackling my next event in June and don’t plan on giving up on the swimming thing either! Best of luck for July and look forward to following your journey!

    • Thanks Elle, talking to other triathletes, I think it’s quite common, but somehow we overcome it. I’m going to get myself to one of the many London swim spots and get over the fear! Good luck in your next tri 🙂

  2. you will be great xx

  3. […] fear of the open-water and this has become especially pressing as I have now gone and entered an open-water triathlon in July. Eeek! Action stations! Juneathon will be about me getting my head and body around this […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

