Posted by: fitartist | July 8, 2015

I AM RUNBOX (BIKEBOX?) Review

When I first read about the new I AM RUNBOX, I thought: ‘That would be perfect for a bike commute’, so decided to base my trying and testing not on running but riding. This is where Edward, my guest tester, comes in 🙂 Edward cycles to work every day (really, rain or shine – and even snow – he’d much rather cycle than stand on a stuffy train). To carry his clothes at the moment, he neatly irons and folds them, puts them in a plastic carrier bag and slides them into his pannier bag, where they promptly slip downwards and, over the course of his commute, get a bit crumpled and crushed by his butty box. Neat. It’s a good job he works in quite a relaxed environment 😉

The I AM RUNBOX arrived nicely packaged:

Shiny and new

Shiny and new

…and I quickly had a good look at the lovely instructional diagrams and information card:

Lines

Lines

Those of you who know me well know that I *love* a line drawing and actually collect (yes, really) instructional diagrams, so this kept me entertained for some time. Drool. As you can see here the RUNBOX includes a handy Folding Assistant:

Folding Facts

Folding Facts

If you’ve ever hung about in Gap for long enough, you might have seen staff members constructing those lovely angular stacks of clothing, using a similar rectangle of plastic, so I promptly indulged my inner Gap worker and got busy folding an already ironed shirt.

Following instructions

Following instructions

This means you fold your clothing to exactly the right size for the box, minimising crumpling and making it easier to pack.

Folding

Folding

Like so:

Ta-Daaaah!

Ta-Daaaah!

Wanting to make this test as close to normal as possible, Edward also managed to fit in his jeans (with bulky belt) and his iPad and they were all popped into the pannier bag ready for the ride:

Ready to go!

Ready to go!

So, did Edward look all neat and fancy when he got into his work clothes? Well yes, as neat and fancy as he can – the RUNBOX had kept his clothes in exactly the same position. They were protected from sandwich crush and any potential drink leakages by the water-resistant material. His iPad was given an extra layer of protection from any knocks and he has somewhere to put things that he doesn’t want going anywhere near his sweaty footie kit on the return journey home. I might be borrowing the RUNBOX for my swim sessions – sometimes I’ll go for a swim before travelling on somewhere else and it would be great to have somewhere to put my books, notes and stationery that will protect them from towel dampness. If you want to know more or have any questions, have a look at the I AM RUNBOX here.

Responses

  1. Very neat–I had never heard of this before!

    • Great isn’t it? It’s really good quality, very durable.


Leave a Reply

Categories

