Posted by: fitartist | November 2, 2015

Dr Zak’s Protein-Packed Nut Butters

Yum! I love peanut butter, so was drooling slightly at the thought of trying out the new Dr Zak’s nut butters. You might remember earlier in the year I tried out some of Dr Zak’s protein bagels and really liked them, so I was intrigued to sample something new. The peanut butters come in five flavours: Salted Caramel, White Chocolate & Coconut, Apple & Cinnamon, Cherry Bakewell and Fresh Raspberry; I was sent a jar each of the white chocolate and coconut and cherry bakewell flavours.

Peanutty goodness

Peanutty goodness

I must admit, I prefer my nut butters crunchy, with a bit of bite to them and these are smooth butters and quite runny. I don’t normally have the jam and peanut butter on toast combo so, in the interest of research, just stuck a spoon in and had a lick. Sweeeeeeeeeet!! Really, these are very sweet, so you might want to miss the jam layer! The spreads are made in the UK and are free from palm oil, naturally sweetened with fruit extract, contain no preservatives and deliver 7.2g of protein in every 20g serving, so this seems like a tasty way to get some additional protein in your diet when training hard.

Since I find them a bit sweet for my liking, I have been dolloping a spoonful in a post-run smoothie and also baked some peanut butter flapjacks as a refuelling treat (though, with the oil content, you need to adjust your baking time so they don’t burn. Ahem πŸ˜‰ ). The spreads are made using the highest quality partially hydrolysed whey protein isolate, are approved by the Vegetarian Society and can be bought from a number of online stockists listed here (you can also search by postcode for your nearest retailer). Let me know if you think up any new ways to use peanut butter in your diet and post any links to tasty recipes below πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Categories

