Posted by: fitartist | December 31, 2015

A Round-Up and a Look Ahead

Well, that flew by, didn’t it?! I really can’t believe it’s 2016 tomorrow. It’s been another great year, in my own running and multi-sports, but most excitingly in helping others reach their goals. 2015 has been another busy year, with lots of races and times smashed, starting with a new half-marathon PB in February.

Big Medal

Big Medal

In April, I went beyond my own expectations by swimming my furthest distance yet, in the 5k Swimathon. Having only swum a mile at most, I trained steadily and reached my goal with a little help and support from my friends.

Happy Hug

Happy Hug

Watch this space to hear more about my Swimathon plans for 2016, it’s going to be another exciting swimming year.

After months of training and dipping my toes – tentatively – in open water, I went for it and had a brilliant time in my first open-water triathlon at the Lidl Bananaman Triathlon. It makes me smile so much when I re-read this race report and look at the happy photos, what a brilliant day we had.

Easy Riders

Easy Riders

September saw me taking on the London Duathlon again, under less than perfect conditions (I was full of cold and should probably have stayed in bed, but…).

Will run for roasties

Will run for roasties

One of my proudest race moments of the year was the Hever Castle Triathlon, my first go at the Olympic Distance. I was so nervous about the swim in a lake and river, it felt amazing to exit the water with a smile on my face.

Cold, but happy

Cold, but happy

So, what have I got planned for 2016? It’s going to be a big year! I will be taking my running coaching to another level, in my new role as trainer with GoodGym Lewisham πŸ™‚ We will be running to do good, from January 18th, making a difference all over the borough and getting fit in the process. My own goals are to continue on my triathlon and duathlon journey, with the next level being tackled in July at the Outlaw Holkham Half-Ironman. Yes. Bugger. I blame my friend Siggy, who twisted my arm, at least I know she will train as hard as me and we’ll smash it together. FitArtist is ten in 2016! I will be working out a celebratory plan-of-action, so keep an eye out for any special events. And, of course, I will be spending lots of time running and cheering at my beloved Hilly Fields parkrun and junior parkrun.

It was my birthday yesterday. I always run on my birthday and thought it might be nice to see if any of my friends wanted to join me. This is what happened:

Lovely friends

Lovely friends

Two more friends joined us en route and they were all very well-behaved when they came home for tea and cake…

House-trained

House-trained

That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Have a brilliant 2016 and I look forward to your support, encouragement and ideas throughout the year x

Leave a Reply

Categories

