Posted by: fitartist | August 25, 2016

Ion8 Sports Water Bottle – No Leaks!

At last, a drinks bottle that doesn’t leak!! I had been complaining about constantly ending up with wet stuff in my bag (and even getting a wet back one day), after going through a series of water bottles that promised to be leak-free, only to find they clearly weren’t. Thankfully Cathy at JogBlog saw my plea for recommendations and forwarded me details of a bottle that looked like it would do the trick.

I was a bit cynical when I was sent the Ion8 Sports Water Bottle to test and carefully propped it upright in my kit bag, worrying that my books and notes might end up soggy by the end of my journey. The number of bottles I’ve been through is getting into double figures, as they work brilliantly for a few days, then start to leak everywhere without fail. I’ve tried pop-up tops, twisty tops, screw tops and flip tops and now have a cupboard full of them. This bottle is different though and uses a combination of a removable lid, with a button and a clasp, double locking!

Watertight

No leaks!

I’ve tested the bottle thoroughly, with a family holiday in Cornwall, so it’s been on trains, to the beach and upside down in my rucksack…and it really hasn’t leaked! After almost giving up on ever being fully hydrated on journeys, this is a revelation! It comes in three colours (I have the pink and feel like some sort of water-drinking professional when I get it out on the tube) and has a nice rubber grip. This is what the manufacturers have to say about the bottle:

‘When closed, hypoallergenic silicon seals the spout and vent completely, and keeping it sealed, clean and hygienic. The bottle can be opened with one hand by using its spring loaded flip top. To prevent accidental opening when carrying in a bag, ion8 has a lid lock. While many rigid bottles are painfully slow to drink from, the ion8 has a vented, smooth liquid flow, providing effortless hydration. There is no annoying screw top and no tough nozzle.

A wide opening also allows refilling without spillage, and is big enough for ice cubes or even chunks of fruit for a healthy, subtle hint of flavour.’

It’s also free from nasties:

‘Ion8 is made from BPA Free, phthalate free, non-toxic TRITAN by Eastman. Tritan® is highly resistant to odours, can be easily cleaned and is dishwasher safe.’

Ooh, I didn’t know that about the dishwasher, great (I was avoiding putting plastic bottles in the dishwasher, having melted one previously).

If you fancy having something reliable and nice to use, then I’d recommend the Ion8, I’m now a non-leaky believer 😉

Leave a Reply

Categories

